post.thing.net

headlines | about |

reviews

Op Ed by EDT/bang.lab in Union Tribune, San Diego

BY MICHA CÁRDENAS, AMY SARA CARROLL, RICARDO DOMINGUEZ AND BRETT STALBAUM
SUNDAY, MARCH 7, 2010 AT 12:04 A.M.


Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Confucius But Were Afraid To Ask

CONFUCIUS: His Life and Legacy in Art
February 11 – June 13, 2010
China Institute Gallery
125 East 65th Street, New York

February 16, 2010. Growing up, I didn't have much time for Confucius. Among the prominent Asian philosophers, he took second place to Lao Tzu and Taosim, and for obvious reasons. Taoism seemed more laissez-faire, less involved with propriety and property. It embraced a certain ease and modesty, a harmonious accommodation with nature. There was a nonchalance that sat well with my hipster, slacker ideal of "there's a road we're all on, man, but it really leads nowhere except right back to where we all started from, so don't get me uptight, just chill and pass that j."

My rebellious, reductivist streak left no room for the conventional wisdom of the Confucian status quo, for its apotheosis of family, for using the correct ritual and sacrifice on every occasion, for a strict legal code that could deaden spontaneity. I had dabbled in the Analects, and these dialogs were obviously "wise", but my lingering suspicion was that they were wise in the wrong way. There was no escaping their prim orientation towards duty and decorum.


Forcible Denial

Under the category of "Reviews," I present my own reviews of what has happened in the careers and presentations or projects of many during the 20th century, up through now.

Thus one reviews, or takes another view, with the benefit of hindsight, at what occurred.


Review of RICHARD WRIGHT: Turner Prize @ The Brooklyn Rail

Letter from LONDON: RICHARD WRIGHT: Turner Prize 09
by Joseph Nechvatal
TATE BRITAIN, LONDON
OCTOBER 6, 2009 – JANUARY 3, 2010
published in the Feb issue of The Brooklyn Rail RICHARD WRIGHT @ TATE BRITAIN, LONDON: RICHARD WRIGHT @ TATE BRITAIN, LONDONRICHARD WRIGHT @ TATE BRITAIN, LONDON: RICHARD WRIGHT @ TATE BRITAIN, LONDON


Transborder immigrant Tool - CNN Intriguing people for December 21, 2009

The Transborder Immigrant Tool is Intriguing - as are dead Popes ;-)

Ricardo Dominguez


Bruce High Quality? No.

^ Bruce High Quality Foundation, Bachelors of Avignon ^

Bruce High Quality Foundation University
Susan Inglett Gallery
522 West 24 Street
New York NY 10011
December 8, 2009 - January 23, 2010

www.inglettgallery.com/exhibitions.php?id=93&year=2009

I had to dig up my six gun from the backyard for this. I last used it on Mel Ramos in 1975. But the Bruce High Quality Foundation’s show at Susan Inglett is the worst I’ve seen in many a moon, and that’s why I gotta get on their asses.


Review of 2009 Turner Prize winner Richard Wright (Tate Britain) and Pop Life: Art in a Material World (Tate Modern)

categories:

Richard Wright no title 2009.Richard Wright no title 2009.

Pop in Crises: Time Has Come Today
A review of 2 London shows: The 2009 Turner Prize winner Richard Wright (Tate Britain) and Pop Life: Art in a Material World (Tate Modern)

Viewing 2009 Turner Prize winner Richard Wright’s pareidolia-laced no title 2009 and Pop Life: Art in a Material World set in motion for me a set of considerations about the contemporary condition of art. Something prime is shifting.

I think I can sum it up by saying that the success of Wright’s large, but delicate, wall mural signaled to me the return of magical immersive thinking into mainstream art. This at the expense of the pop icon/logo celebrated in the Pop Life: Art in a Material World exhibit. Its gold, monochromatic (but kaleidoscopic) ground dominates over configuration. As a consequence, this visionary art produces an exciting all-over full fervor that needs to be interacted with imaginatively.


An App For Betrayal

categories:

[I thought post.thing folks would enjoy this review of the project ;-]

A smart phone to help kill American jobs
By Mark Cromer | Published on 12.05.2009

http://www.noozhawk.com/conklin_wayman/article/120509_mark_cromer_an_app...


Resist Film about Border Deaths and NPR LA: Cell phone doubles as coyote


Philip Guston: Small Oils 1969-1973 at MCKEE GALLERY


James Kalm is delighted to bring viewers along for a holiday stroll through this exhibition of small works by one of New York’s most influential painters. Executed during a five year period while Guston was developing his “Hooded Figure” and “Roma” series, these pieces show the concentration and focus the artists was bringing to his return to figuration. Divided into four categories - single objects, hoods, city scapes and studio interiors - these small pictures retain their power despite their size, and give testament to the high regard Guston maintains among young contemporary painters.


Syndicate content