headlines | about |

ECD/Transborder Immigrant Tool - Front Page LA Times - Plus Shows

UC San Diego professor who studies disobedience gains followers -- and investigators

Ricardo Dominguez, an electronic civil disobedience expert, is the target of probes examining whether his work improperly uses public funds and violates security laws.,0,482...

2010 California Biennial
May 20, 2010 | 2:20 pm
The Orange County Museum of Art has selected more than 40 artists and collaborative groups to participate in the 2010 California Biennial.

The exhibition, which will run Oct. 24 to March 13, is designed to showcase new developments in contemporary art with an emphasis on emerging artists from around the state.

This year’s participants were chosen by OCMA curator Sarah Bancroft, who is curating the biennial. They represent the fields of drawing and works on paper, film and video, large-scale installation, painting, performance and dance, photography, sculpture and text-based work.

Here’s the list of the 2010 California Biennial artists:

David Adey, Agitprop, EDT/b.a.n.g. lab (Micha Cardnas, Amy Sara Carroll, Ricardo Dominguez, Elle Mehrmand and Brett Stallbaum), Gil Blank, Nate Boyce, Luke Butler, Juan Capistran, Zoe Crosher, Brian Dick, Dru Donovan, Mari Eastman, Carlee Fernandez, Finishing School, Eve Fowler, Rebecca Goldfarb, Katy Grannan, Alexandra Grant, Sherin Guirguis, Drew Heitzler, Violet Hopkins, Alex Israel, Glenna Jennings, Barry MacGregor Johnston, Vishal Jugdeo, Stanya Kahn, Andy Kolar, Jennifer Locke, Los Angeles Urban Rangers, Tom Mueske, Tucker Nichols, Camilo Ontiveros, Nikki Pressley, Andy Ralph, Will Rogan, Paul Schiek, Taravat Talepasand, Wu Tsang, Zlatan Vukosavljevic, Nina Waisman, Flora Wiegmann, Allison Wiese, Lisa Williamson, David Wilson, Patrick Wilson and John Zurier.


Think of it as a ‘kind of banquet or feast’
Every few years during its history, the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego has taken stock of the San Diego art scene with a substantial exhibition. In October, the museum announced its intentions to do so again, with an exhibition called “Here Not There.” And now, it has announced the selection of locally based artists who will be in that show, which opens June 6.

There are 43 in all (with a collective counted as one artist); 34 will display work in the galleries of the museum’s home in La Jolla through Sept. 19. The remaining nine will be featured in one of two evenings devoted to film or performance art. The date of the performance evening is June 19; the film date is still to be determined.

The museum’s associate curator, Lucia Sanroman, oversaw the selections, with input from director Hugh Davies, curator Robin Clark and education curator Gabrielle Wyrick.

The process was complex. The museum put out a call for entries, which totaled 234 artists. Meanwhile, Sanroman drew up a list of artists looking at the rosters of schools and various other sources of names. Ultimately, the starting point was a list of 350.

The emphasis on the list is on emerging and midcareer artists.

Sanroman said she changed many of her assumptions about the San Diego County scene as she went through the process of visiting numerous studios (approximately 60) and viewing exhibitions: “We really wanted to make it possible for the public to see what’s being produced here. I like to think of the notion of the show as a kind of banquet or feast.”

The artists: David Adey, Agitprop, Adam Belt, Susannah Bielak, Brian Black and Ryan Bulis (exhibiting together), Kelsey Brookes, Sheldon Brown, Micha Cardenas and Elle Mehrmand (exhibiting together), Brian Dick, Electronic Disturbance Theater/b.a.n.g lab (Micha Cardnas, Amy Sara Carroll, Ricardo Dominguez, Elle Mehrmand and Brett Stallbaum), Tom Driscoll, Kelly Eginton, James Enos, Steve Gibson, Brian Goeltzenleuchter, Matt Hebert, John Hogan , Jeff Irwin, Glenna Jennings, Wendell Kling, John Oliver Lewis, Lev Manovich, Heather Gwen Martin, May-Ling Martinez, Jessica McCambly, Gretchen Mercedes, Patricia Montoya, Ingram Ober, Christopher Puzio, Andy Ralph, Marisol Rendon, Allison Renshaw, Jason Sherry and Matt Hoyt (exhibiting together), Tristan Shone, The Border Corps (Armando de la Torre, Anthony Vasquez, Endy, Perry Vasquez and Shondra Dawson), Stephen Tompkins, Michael Trigilio, Robert Twomey, Zlatan Vukosavljevic, Vicki Walsh and Allison Wiese.